Compliance platform comparison

Scrut Automation vs Thoropass

Scrut Automation's typical price is lower ($7,250 median against $26,927 median). Thoropass publishes 200+ integrations; Scrut Automation doesn't publish a count. Thoropass runs the audit through its related CPA firm. 1 firm in SOC2Auditors.org's directory lists Scrut Automation. On G2, Scrut Automation rates 4.9 from 1,338 reviews and Thoropass 4.7 from 586.

Short verdict: which one fits you

A fit guide, not a ranking. We don't pick an overall winner.

Choose Scrut Automation if…

  • a lower typical price matters most ($7,250 median vs $26,927 median) [2]
  • you want more choice of audit firm (1 directory firm) [13]
  • you want a faster rollout (1 month on G2) [1]
  • you match its stated best fit: growth-stage tech teams managing SOC 2 alongside other frameworks [3]

Choose Thoropass if…

  • you want the larger published integration catalogue (200+) [12]
  • you want the audit from the same provider [3]
  • you match its stated best fit: teams wanting software and a connected audit process from the same provider [3]

Neither can be self-hosted. If you need that, compare Comp AI. [6]

Scrut Automation

Compliance and risk platform for growth-stage tech teams running SOC 2 alongside other frameworks.

Typical annual price
$7,250 medianThird-party[2]
Observed contracts (Vendr)
$5,160 to $27,050Third-party[2]
G2 rating
4.9 · 1,338 reviewsUser reviews[1]
G2 time to implement
Integrations
Not disclosedNot disclosed[3]
Frameworks
Audit firms in the directory
1 directory firmThird-party[13]
Default test cadence

Thoropass

Compliance platform paired with its related CPA firm, Thoropass Assurance, so software and audit come from one provider.

Typical annual price
$26,927 medianThird-party[2]
Observed contracts (Vendr)
$1,145 to $52,209Third-party[2]
G2 rating
4.7 · 586 reviewsUser reviews[1]
G2 time to implement
Not disclosedNot disclosed[3]
Integrations
Frameworks
Audit firms in the directory
Own CPA firmThird-party[3]
Default test cadence
Not disclosedNot disclosed[3]

Pricing: is Scrut Automation or Thoropass cheaper?

Scrut Automation's typical price is lower ($7,250 median against $26,927 median).

Scrut Automation
$5,160 to $27,050Third-party[2]
Median $7,250
Thoropass
$1,145 to $52,209Third-party[2]
Median $26,927

Observed annual contract values reported by Vendr, read 5 October 2026. These are different buyers and scopes, not quotes. [2]

AttributeScrut AutomationThoropass
Typical annual price
$7,250 medianThird-party[2]
$26,927 medianThird-party[2]
Observed contract range (Vendr)
$5,160 to $27,050Third-party[2]
$1,145 to $52,209Third-party[2]

Before comparing totals, get both quotes on the same written scope: employees, frameworks, modules, implementation, support level, contract term, renewal cap and the auditor's fee as its own line.

Integrations and automated testing

Thoropass publishes 200+ integrations; Scrut Automation doesn't publish a count.

AttributeScrut AutomationThoropass
Integrations
Not disclosedNot disclosed[3]
Default test cadence
Not disclosedNot disclosed[3]

On G2, "Integration issues" is among Thoropass's most-mentioned complaints (34 G2 mentions). [1]

Integration counts are vendor claims and are counted differently by each vendor. Test the systems you depend on during a trial.

Frameworks

Scrut Automation lists 60 listed; Thoropass lists 18 named.

AttributeScrut AutomationThoropass
Frameworks published
ISO 27001
HIPAA

Capabilities compared

From SOC2Auditors.org capability profiles and vendor plan pages. "Not disclosed" means we could not confirm either way; it does not mean the feature is missing.

AttributeScrut AutomationThoropass
Auditor workspace
Trust centre
SCIM provisioning
Audit from the same provider
Self-hosting option
Not disclosedNot disclosed[3]
Not disclosedNot disclosed[3]

Working with your auditor

Thoropass runs the audit through its related CPA firm. 1 firm in SOC2Auditors.org's directory lists Scrut Automation.

AttributeScrut AutomationThoropass
Audit firms in the directory
1 directory firmThird-party[13]
Own CPA firmThird-party[3]
Audit from the same provider

Scrut Automation doesn't sell the audit; you hire a firm separately. Thoropass runs it through its related CPA firm, Thoropass Assurance, priced separately. Directory counts are firms that list each platform, not partnerships or quality ratings. [4]

What reviewers say on G2

On G2, Scrut Automation rates 4.9 from 1,338 reviews and Thoropass 4.7 from 586.

Scrut Automation

Listing-site ratings
G2
4.9
1,338 reviews

Recurring praise

  • Not yet compiled

Recurring complaints

  • Not yet compiled

Thoropass

Listing-site ratings
G2
4.7
586 reviews

Recurring praise

  • Ease of use239 G2 mentions
  • Helpful221 G2 mentions

Recurring complaints

  • Lack of clarity39 G2 mentions
  • Integration issues34 G2 mentions

Source: [1]

G2 time to implement: Scrut Automation 1 month, Thoropass not reported. Mention counts scale with review volume, so compare them as proportions, not totals. [1]

What each product looks like

Screenshots published by each vendor on its website or G2 listing, credited below each image.

Strengths and limitations

Scrut Automation

Strengths

  • Highest G2 rating among the nine platforms we compare: 4.9 from 1,338 reviews. [1]
  • Lowest observed contract median of the seven platforms with Vendr data: $7,250 a year. [2]
  • 1-month G2 time to implement, the shortest among the nine (tied with Comp AI). [1]
  • Listed with SCIM in Okta's catalogue; trust portal and auditor access documented. [3]

Limitations

  • AWS Marketplace lists $15,000 a year for teams of up to 20 employees; other quotes are by request. [5][11]
  • Only one firm in SOC2Auditors.org's directory lists it as a platform it works with. [13]
  • Which plan includes SCIM is not public. [3]

Thoropass

Strengths

  • Software and audit from one provider, through its related CPA firm, Thoropass Assurance. [3]
  • SCIM 2.0 provisioning documented for Entra and Okta; the API key comes from your customer success manager. [9]
  • "Helpful" is among the most-mentioned positives in its G2 reviews (221 mentions). [1]

Limitations

  • Software and audit are priced separately, so the total needs two quotes. [3]
  • Reviewers cite a lack of clarity and integration issues (39 and 34 G2 mentions). [1]
  • Observed contract median of $26,927 on Vendr, second-highest of the seven platforms with Vendr data. [2]

Five tests to run on both before you sign

  1. Connect your three most important systems

    Use a trial or sandbox to connect your cloud provider, identity provider and code host, and check that each produces evidence without manual uploads.

  2. Ask your auditor which one they work in

    An auditor who already works in a platform usually needs less back-and-forth on evidence.

  3. Get both quotes on the same written scope

    Employees, frameworks, modules, support level, contract term, renewal cap, and the audit as its own line.

  4. Check what is an add-on

    SSO, SCIM, extra frameworks, questionnaires and trust-centre features are often tier-gated. Ask for the full price of the scope you need.

  5. Ask how you would leave

    Confirm you can export policies, evidence with timestamps and test history, and whether read-only access continues after the contract ends.

Alternatives and related comparisons

Frequently asked questions

Answers use the figures on this page. Where something isn't disclosed, the answer says so.

Is Scrut Automation or Thoropass cheaper?

Scrut Automation's typical price is lower ($7,250 median against $26,927 median). Prices depend on employees, frameworks and modules, so compare quotes for the same written scope.

Which has more integrations, Scrut Automation or Thoropass?

Thoropass publishes 200+ integrations; Scrut Automation doesn't publish a count. Counts are vendor claims; test the systems you depend on.

Do more auditors work with Scrut Automation or Thoropass?

Thoropass runs the audit through its related CPA firm. 1 firm in SOC2Auditors.org's directory lists Scrut Automation.

Which is rated higher on G2, Scrut Automation or Thoropass?

On G2, Scrut Automation rates 4.9 from 1,338 reviews and Thoropass 4.7 from 586. Ratings come from self-selected reviewers.

Which is faster to implement?

G2 reviewers report 1 month for Scrut Automation and no figure for Thoropass. Your own timeline depends on scope and how much evidence already exists.

Can Scrut Automation or Thoropass include the SOC 2 audit?

Scrut Automation doesn't sell the audit; you hire a firm separately. Thoropass runs it through its related CPA firm, Thoropass Assurance, priced separately.

Can I switch from Scrut Automation to Thoropass mid-audit?

You can, but it is risky during a Type 2 observation period, because your auditor needs continuous evidence for the whole period. Most teams switch between observation periods.