Compliance platform comparison

Thoropass vs Vanta

Vanta's typical price is lower ($20,000 median against $26,927 median). Vanta publishes the larger integration catalogue (400+ vs 200+). Thoropass runs the audit through its related CPA firm. 40 firms in SOC2Auditors.org's directory list Vanta. On G2, Thoropass rates 4.7 from 586 reviews and Vanta 4.5 from 2,853.

Short verdict: which one fits you

A fit guide, not a ranking. We don't pick an overall winner.

Choose Thoropass if…

  • you want the audit from the same provider [3]
  • you need SCIM provisioning confirmed as standard [9]
  • you match its stated best fit: teams wanting software and a connected audit process from the same provider [3]

Choose Vanta if…

  • a lower typical price matters most ($20,000 median vs $26,927 median) [2]
  • you want the larger published integration catalogue (400+ vs 200+) [5]
  • you want more choice of audit firm (40 directory firms) [4]
  • hourly default testing matters for your highest-risk controls [5]

Neither can be self-hosted. If you need that, compare Comp AI. [6]

Thoropass

Compliance platform paired with its related CPA firm, Thoropass Assurance, so software and audit come from one provider.

Typical annual price
$26,927 medianThird-party[2]
Observed contracts (Vendr)
$1,145 to $52,209Third-party[2]
G2 rating
4.7 · 586 reviewsUser reviews[1]
G2 time to implement
Not disclosedNot disclosed[3]
Integrations
Frameworks
Audit firms in the directory
Own CPA firmThird-party[3]
Default test cadence
Not disclosedNot disclosed[3]

Pricing: is Thoropass or Vanta cheaper?

Vanta's typical price is lower ($20,000 median against $26,927 median).

Thoropass
$1,145 to $52,209Third-party[2]
Median $26,927
Vanta
$7,500 to $57,221Third-party[2]
Median $20,000

Observed annual contract values reported by Vendr, read 5 October 2026. These are different buyers and scopes, not quotes. [2]

AttributeThoropassVanta
Typical annual price
$26,927 medianThird-party[2]
$20,000 medianThird-party[2]
Observed contract range (Vendr)
$1,145 to $52,209Third-party[2]
$7,500 to $57,221Third-party[2]

Before comparing totals, get both quotes on the same written scope: employees, frameworks, modules, implementation, support level, contract term, renewal cap and the auditor's fee as its own line.

Integrations and automated testing

Vanta publishes the larger integration catalogue (400+ vs 200+).

AttributeThoropassVanta
Integrations
Default test cadence
Not disclosedNot disclosed[3]

On G2, "Integration issues" is among Thoropass's most-mentioned complaints (34 G2 mentions). [1]

On G2, "Integration issues" is among Vanta's most-mentioned complaints (179 G2 mentions). [7]

Integration counts are vendor claims and are counted differently by each vendor. Test the systems you depend on during a trial.

Frameworks

Thoropass lists 18 named; Vanta lists 35+.

AttributeThoropassVanta
Frameworks published
ISO 27001
HIPAA

Capabilities compared

From SOC2Auditors.org capability profiles and vendor plan pages. "Not disclosed" means we could not confirm either way; it does not mean the feature is missing.

AttributeThoropassVanta
Auditor workspace
Trust centre
SCIM provisioning
Add-on or higher tierVendor-reported[8]
Audit from the same provider
Add-on or higher tierThird-party[3]
Self-hosting option
Not disclosedNot disclosed[3]
Not disclosedNot disclosed[3]

Working with your auditor

Thoropass runs the audit through its related CPA firm. 40 firms in SOC2Auditors.org's directory list Vanta.

AttributeThoropassVanta
Audit firms in the directory
Own CPA firmThird-party[3]
40 directory firmsThird-party[4]
Audit from the same provider
Add-on or higher tierThird-party[3]

Thoropass runs it through its related CPA firm, Thoropass Assurance, priced separately. Vanta sells a package that can include an independent auditor's fee. Directory counts are firms that list each platform, not partnerships or quality ratings. [4]

What reviewers say on G2

On G2, Thoropass rates 4.7 from 586 reviews and Vanta 4.5 from 2,853.

Thoropass

Listing-site ratings
G2
4.7
586 reviews

Recurring praise

  • Ease of use239 G2 mentions
  • Helpful221 G2 mentions

Recurring complaints

  • Lack of clarity39 G2 mentions
  • Integration issues34 G2 mentions

Vanta

Listing-site ratings
G2
4.5
2,853 reviews

Recurring praise

  • Ease of use675 G2 mentions
  • Time saved through automation405 G2 mentions

Recurring complaints

  • Integration issues179 G2 mentions

Source: [1][7]

G2 time to implement: Thoropass not reported, Vanta 2 months. Mention counts scale with review volume, so compare them as proportions, not totals. [1]

What each product looks like

Screenshots published by each vendor on its website or G2 listing, credited below each image.

Strengths and limitations

Thoropass

Strengths

  • Software and audit from one provider, through its related CPA firm, Thoropass Assurance. [3]
  • SCIM 2.0 provisioning documented for Entra and Okta; the API key comes from your customer success manager. [9]
  • "Helpful" is among the most-mentioned positives in its G2 reviews (221 mentions). [1]

Limitations

  • Software and audit are priced separately, so the total needs two quotes. [3]
  • Reviewers cite a lack of clarity and integration issues (39 and 34 G2 mentions). [1]
  • Observed contract median of $26,927 on Vendr, second-highest of the seven platforms with Vendr data. [2]

Vanta

Strengths

  • Hourly automated tests by default, the most frequent published cadence among the nine platforms we compare. [5]
  • 400+ integrations, and 40 audit firms in SOC2Auditors.org's directory list it. [5][4]
  • Full SCIM account lifecycle documented. [3]

Limitations

  • SCIM may need a plan upgrade or add-on, per Vanta's own help centre. [8]
  • Reviewers rate its support below Drata's (8.9 vs 9.5 on G2). [7]
  • Observed contracts range widely, up to $57,221 a year. [2]

Five tests to run on both before you sign

  1. Connect your three most important systems

    Use a trial or sandbox to connect your cloud provider, identity provider and code host, and check that each produces evidence without manual uploads.

  2. Ask your auditor which one they work in

    An auditor who already works in a platform usually needs less back-and-forth on evidence.

  3. Get both quotes on the same written scope

    Employees, frameworks, modules, support level, contract term, renewal cap, and the audit as its own line.

  4. Check what is an add-on

    SSO, SCIM, extra frameworks, questionnaires and trust-centre features are often tier-gated. Ask for the full price of the scope you need.

  5. Ask how you would leave

    Confirm you can export policies, evidence with timestamps and test history, and whether read-only access continues after the contract ends.

Alternatives and related comparisons

Frequently asked questions

Answers use the figures on this page. Where something isn't disclosed, the answer says so.

Is Thoropass or Vanta cheaper?

Vanta's typical price is lower ($20,000 median against $26,927 median). Prices depend on employees, frameworks and modules, so compare quotes for the same written scope.

Which has more integrations, Thoropass or Vanta?

Vanta publishes the larger integration catalogue (400+ vs 200+). Counts are vendor claims; test the systems you depend on.

Do more auditors work with Thoropass or Vanta?

Thoropass runs the audit through its related CPA firm. 40 firms in SOC2Auditors.org's directory list Vanta.

Which is rated higher on G2, Thoropass or Vanta?

On G2, Thoropass rates 4.7 from 586 reviews and Vanta 4.5 from 2,853. Ratings come from self-selected reviewers.

Which is faster to implement?

G2 reviewers report no figure for Thoropass and 2 months for Vanta. Your own timeline depends on scope and how much evidence already exists.

Can Thoropass or Vanta include the SOC 2 audit?

Thoropass runs it through its related CPA firm, Thoropass Assurance, priced separately. Vanta sells a package that can include an independent auditor's fee.

Can I switch from Thoropass to Vanta mid-audit?

You can, but it is risky during a Type 2 observation period, because your auditor needs continuous evidence for the whole period. Most teams switch between observation periods.