Compliance platform comparison

Scytale vs Thoropass

Scytale's typical price is lower (from $7,500 against $26,927 median), though one figure is a starting price and the other an observed median. Thoropass publishes the larger integration catalogue (200+ vs 150+). Thoropass runs the audit through its related CPA firm. 0 firms in SOC2Auditors.org's directory list Scytale. On G2, Scytale rates 4.7 from 779 reviews and Thoropass 4.7 from 586.

Short verdict: which one fits you

A fit guide, not a ranking. We don't pick an overall winner.

Choose Scytale if…

  • a lower typical price matters most (from $7,500 vs $26,927 median) [1]
  • you want a faster rollout (2 months on G2) [3]
  • you want guided preparation or included expert help [5]
  • you match its stated best fit: teams preparing a first SOC 2 without an in-house compliance lead [5]

Choose Thoropass if…

  • you want the larger published integration catalogue (200+ vs 150+) [14]
  • you want the audit from the same provider [5]
  • you match its stated best fit: teams wanting software and a connected audit process from the same provider [5]

Neither can be self-hosted. If you need that, compare Comp AI. [10]

Scytale

Compliance automation platform sold in packages that pair the software with consultants, aimed at a first SOC 2.

Typical annual price
From $7,500 (platform + 1 framework)Vendor-reported[1]
Observed contracts (Vendr)
G2 rating
4.7 · 779 reviewsUser reviews[3]
G2 time to implement
Integrations
Audit firms in the directory
0 directory firmsThird-party[7]
Default test cadence
Not disclosedNot disclosed[2]

Thoropass

Compliance platform paired with its related CPA firm, Thoropass Assurance, so software and audit come from one provider.

Typical annual price
$26,927 medianThird-party[4]
Observed contracts (Vendr)
$1,145 to $52,209Third-party[4]
G2 rating
4.7 · 586 reviewsUser reviews[3]
G2 time to implement
Not disclosedNot disclosed[5]
Integrations
Frameworks
Audit firms in the directory
Own CPA firmThird-party[5]
Default test cadence
Not disclosedNot disclosed[5]

Pricing: is Scytale or Thoropass cheaper?

Scytale's typical price is lower (from $7,500 against $26,927 median), though one figure is a starting price and the other an observed median.

AttributeScytaleThoropass
Typical annual price
From $7,500 (platform + 1 framework)Vendor-reported[1]
$26,927 medianThird-party[4]
Observed contract range (Vendr)
$1,145 to $52,209Third-party[4]

Before comparing totals, get both quotes on the same written scope: employees, frameworks, modules, implementation, support level, contract term, renewal cap and the auditor's fee as its own line.

Integrations and automated testing

Thoropass publishes the larger integration catalogue (200+ vs 150+).

AttributeScytaleThoropass
Integrations
Default test cadence
Not disclosedNot disclosed[2]
Not disclosedNot disclosed[5]

On G2, "Integration issues" is among Scytale's most-mentioned complaints (45 G2 mentions). [3]

On G2, "Integration issues" is among Thoropass's most-mentioned complaints (34 G2 mentions). [3]

Integration counts are vendor claims and are counted differently by each vendor. Test the systems you depend on during a trial.

Frameworks

Scytale lists 80+; Thoropass lists 18 named.

AttributeScytaleThoropass
Frameworks published
ISO 27001
HIPAA

Capabilities compared

From SOC2Auditors.org capability profiles and vendor plan pages. "Not disclosed" means we could not confirm either way; it does not mean the feature is missing.

AttributeScytaleThoropass
Auditor workspace
Trust centre
SCIM provisioning
Audit from the same provider
Add-on or higher tierThird-party[5]
Self-hosting option
Not disclosedNot disclosed[5]
Not disclosedNot disclosed[5]

Working with your auditor

Thoropass runs the audit through its related CPA firm. 0 firms in SOC2Auditors.org's directory list Scytale.

AttributeScytaleThoropass
Audit firms in the directory
0 directory firmsThird-party[7]
Own CPA firmThird-party[5]
Audit from the same provider
Add-on or higher tierThird-party[5]

Scytale sells a third-party audit service from $4,200. Thoropass runs it through its related CPA firm, Thoropass Assurance, priced separately. Directory counts are firms that list each platform, not partnerships or quality ratings. [6]

What reviewers say on G2

On G2, Scytale rates 4.7 from 779 reviews and Thoropass 4.7 from 586.

Scytale

Listing-site ratings
G2
4.7
779 reviews

Recurring praise

  • Helpful162 G2 mentions
  • Ease of use148 G2 mentions

Recurring complaints

  • Integration issues45 G2 mentions
  • Limited integrations35 G2 mentions

Thoropass

Listing-site ratings
G2
4.7
586 reviews

Recurring praise

  • Ease of use239 G2 mentions
  • Helpful221 G2 mentions

Recurring complaints

  • Lack of clarity39 G2 mentions
  • Integration issues34 G2 mentions

Source: [3]

G2 time to implement: Scytale 2 months, Thoropass not reported. Mention counts scale with review volume, so compare them as proportions, not totals. [3]

What each product looks like

Screenshots published by each vendor on its website or G2 listing, credited below each image.

Strengths and limitations

Scytale

Strengths

  • Publishes per-item prices on AWS Marketplace: the platform plus one framework from $7,500 a year, each extra framework from $2,100. [1]
  • Higher packages include consultants, for teams without a compliance lead. [7]
  • Sells a third-party audit service from $4,200 alongside the platform. [1]
  • Lists 12 audit partners on its own site, including PwC, Deloitte, EY and KPMG. [13]

Limitations

  • No attestation firm in SOC2Auditors.org's directory lists it as a platform it works with. [7]
  • Extras are priced separately: framework consulting from $4,000, penetration testing from $4,500, security questionnaires from $12,000. [1]
  • Reviews quoted by SmartSuite and SelectHub describe integrations that misbehave when infrastructure doesn't match the expected setup. [8][9]

Thoropass

Strengths

  • Software and audit from one provider, through its related CPA firm, Thoropass Assurance. [5]
  • SCIM 2.0 provisioning documented for Entra and Okta; the API key comes from your customer success manager. [11]
  • "Helpful" is among the most-mentioned positives in its G2 reviews (221 mentions). [3]

Limitations

  • Software and audit are priced separately, so the total needs two quotes. [5]
  • Reviewers cite a lack of clarity and integration issues (39 and 34 G2 mentions). [3]
  • Observed contract median of $26,927 on Vendr, second-highest of the seven platforms with Vendr data. [4]

Five tests to run on both before you sign

  1. Connect your three most important systems

    Use a trial or sandbox to connect your cloud provider, identity provider and code host, and check that each produces evidence without manual uploads.

  2. Ask your auditor which one they work in

    An auditor who already works in a platform usually needs less back-and-forth on evidence.

  3. Get both quotes on the same written scope

    Employees, frameworks, modules, support level, contract term, renewal cap, and the audit as its own line.

  4. Check what is an add-on

    SSO, SCIM, extra frameworks, questionnaires and trust-centre features are often tier-gated. Ask for the full price of the scope you need.

  5. Ask how you would leave

    Confirm you can export policies, evidence with timestamps and test history, and whether read-only access continues after the contract ends.

Alternatives and related comparisons

Frequently asked questions

Answers use the figures on this page. Where something isn't disclosed, the answer says so.

Is Scytale or Thoropass cheaper?

Scytale's typical price is lower (from $7,500 against $26,927 median), though one figure is a starting price and the other an observed median. Prices depend on employees, frameworks and modules, so compare quotes for the same written scope.

Which has more integrations, Scytale or Thoropass?

Thoropass publishes the larger integration catalogue (200+ vs 150+). Counts are vendor claims; test the systems you depend on.

Do more auditors work with Scytale or Thoropass?

Thoropass runs the audit through its related CPA firm. 0 firms in SOC2Auditors.org's directory list Scytale.

Which is rated higher on G2, Scytale or Thoropass?

On G2, Scytale rates 4.7 from 779 reviews and Thoropass 4.7 from 586. Ratings come from self-selected reviewers.

Which is faster to implement?

G2 reviewers report 2 months for Scytale and no figure for Thoropass. Your own timeline depends on scope and how much evidence already exists.

Can Scytale or Thoropass include the SOC 2 audit?

Scytale sells a third-party audit service from $4,200. Thoropass runs it through its related CPA firm, Thoropass Assurance, priced separately.

Can I switch from Scytale to Thoropass mid-audit?

You can, but it is risky during a Type 2 observation period, because your auditor needs continuous evidence for the whole period. Most teams switch between observation periods.