Compliance platform comparison

Drata vs Scytale

Scytale's typical price is lower (from $7,500 against $25,000 median), though one figure is a starting price and the other an observed median. Drata publishes the larger integration catalogue (300+ vs 150+). Drata is listed by more audit firms in SOC2Auditors.org's directory (49 vs 0). On G2, Drata rates 4.7 from 1,397 reviews and Scytale 4.7 from 779.

Short verdict: which one fits you

A fit guide, not a ranking. We don't pick an overall winner.

Choose Drata if…

  • you want the larger published integration catalogue (300+ vs 150+) [11]
  • you want more choice of audit firm (49 directory firms vs 0) [6]
  • you match its stated best fit: growth-stage SaaS teams that expect to add frameworks and want configurable tests [5]

Choose Scytale if…

  • a lower typical price matters most (from $7,500 vs $25,000 median) [1]
  • you need SCIM provisioning confirmed as standard [5]
  • you want guided preparation or included expert help [5]
  • you match its stated best fit: teams preparing a first SOC 2 without an in-house compliance lead [5]

Neither runs the audit itself. If you want software and audit from one provider, compare Thoropass. [5]

Drata

Compliance automation platform with custom tests, compliance checks in infrastructure code and a dedicated auditor portal.

Typical annual price
$25,000 medianThird-party[4]
Observed contracts (Vendr)
$9,415 to $68,250Third-party[4]
G2 rating
4.7 · 1,397 reviewsUser reviews[3]
G2 time to implement
Integrations
Audit firms in the directory
49 directory firmsThird-party[6]
Default test cadence
Daily (7 pm PT)Vendor-reported[15]

Scytale

Compliance automation platform sold in packages that pair the software with consultants, aimed at a first SOC 2.

Typical annual price
From $7,500 (platform + 1 framework)Vendor-reported[1]
Observed contracts (Vendr)
G2 rating
4.7 · 779 reviewsUser reviews[3]
G2 time to implement
Integrations
Audit firms in the directory
0 directory firmsThird-party[7]
Default test cadence
Not disclosedNot disclosed[2]

Pricing: is Drata or Scytale cheaper?

Scytale's typical price is lower (from $7,500 against $25,000 median), though one figure is a starting price and the other an observed median.

AttributeDrataScytale
Typical annual price
$25,000 medianThird-party[4]
From $7,500 (platform + 1 framework)Vendor-reported[1]
Observed contract range (Vendr)
$9,415 to $68,250Third-party[4]

Before comparing totals, get both quotes on the same written scope: employees, frameworks, modules, implementation, support level, contract term, renewal cap and the auditor's fee as its own line.

Integrations and automated testing

Drata publishes the larger integration catalogue (300+ vs 150+).

AttributeDrataScytale
Integrations
Default test cadence
Daily (7 pm PT)Vendor-reported[15]
Not disclosedNot disclosed[2]

On G2, "Limited integrations" is among Drata's most-mentioned complaints (43 G2 mentions). [12]

On G2, "Integration issues" is among Scytale's most-mentioned complaints (45 G2 mentions). [3]

Integration counts are vendor claims and are counted differently by each vendor. Test the systems you depend on during a trial.

Frameworks

Drata lists 30+; Scytale lists 80+.

AttributeDrataScytale
Frameworks published
ISO 27001
HIPAA

Capabilities compared

From SOC2Auditors.org capability profiles and vendor plan pages. "Not disclosed" means we could not confirm either way; it does not mean the feature is missing.

AttributeDrataScytale
Auditor workspace
Trust centre
SCIM provisioning
Add-on or higher tierVendor-reported[10]
Audit from the same provider
Add-on or higher tierThird-party[5]
Self-hosting option
Not disclosedNot disclosed[5]
Not disclosedNot disclosed[5]

Working with your auditor

Drata is listed by more audit firms in SOC2Auditors.org's directory (49 vs 0).

AttributeDrataScytale
Audit firms in the directory
49 directory firmsThird-party[6]
0 directory firmsThird-party[7]
Audit from the same provider
Add-on or higher tierThird-party[5]

Drata doesn't sell the audit; you hire a firm separately. Scytale sells a third-party audit service from $4,200. Directory counts are firms that list each platform, not partnerships or quality ratings. [6]

What reviewers say on G2

On G2, Drata rates 4.7 from 1,397 reviews and Scytale 4.7 from 779.

Drata

Listing-site ratings
G2
4.7
1,397 reviews

Recurring praise

  • Customer support135 G2 mentions
  • Ease of use115 G2 mentions

Recurring complaints

  • Limited integrations43 G2 mentions

Scytale

Listing-site ratings
G2
4.7
779 reviews

Recurring praise

  • Helpful162 G2 mentions
  • Ease of use148 G2 mentions

Recurring complaints

  • Integration issues45 G2 mentions
  • Limited integrations35 G2 mentions

Source: [3][12]

G2 time to implement: Drata 2 months, Scytale 2 months. Mention counts scale with review volume, so compare them as proportions, not totals. [3]

What each product looks like

Screenshots published by each vendor on its website or G2 listing, credited below each image.

Strengths and limitations

Drata

Strengths

  • Listed by the most audit firms in SOC2Auditors.org's directory (49). [6]
  • G2 users rate its support 9.5, against Vanta's 8.9. [12]
  • Custom tests with visible raw output, and compliance checks in infrastructure code. [13][14]

Limitations

  • Observed contract median of $25,000 on Vendr, third-highest of the seven platforms with Vendr data, after Hyperproof and Thoropass. [4]
  • Tests run once a day by default, at 7 pm Pacific, not hourly; manual reruns are available. [15]
  • SCIM is listed only on the Enterprise plan; the Foundation plan is capped at 50 employees and one framework. [10]

Scytale

Strengths

  • Publishes per-item prices on AWS Marketplace: the platform plus one framework from $7,500 a year, each extra framework from $2,100. [1]
  • Higher packages include consultants, for teams without a compliance lead. [7]
  • Sells a third-party audit service from $4,200 alongside the platform. [1]
  • Lists 12 audit partners on its own site, including PwC, Deloitte, EY and KPMG. [16]

Limitations

  • No attestation firm in SOC2Auditors.org's directory lists it as a platform it works with. [7]
  • Extras are priced separately: framework consulting from $4,000, penetration testing from $4,500, security questionnaires from $12,000. [1]
  • Reviews quoted by SmartSuite and SelectHub describe integrations that misbehave when infrastructure doesn't match the expected setup. [8][9]

Five tests to run on both before you sign

  1. Connect your three most important systems

    Use a trial or sandbox to connect your cloud provider, identity provider and code host, and check that each produces evidence without manual uploads.

  2. Ask your auditor which one they work in

    An auditor who already works in a platform usually needs less back-and-forth on evidence.

  3. Get both quotes on the same written scope

    Employees, frameworks, modules, support level, contract term, renewal cap, and the audit as its own line.

  4. Check what is an add-on

    SSO, SCIM, extra frameworks, questionnaires and trust-centre features are often tier-gated. Ask for the full price of the scope you need.

  5. Ask how you would leave

    Confirm you can export policies, evidence with timestamps and test history, and whether read-only access continues after the contract ends.

Alternatives and related comparisons

Frequently asked questions

Answers use the figures on this page. Where something isn't disclosed, the answer says so.

Is Drata or Scytale cheaper?

Scytale's typical price is lower (from $7,500 against $25,000 median), though one figure is a starting price and the other an observed median. Prices depend on employees, frameworks and modules, so compare quotes for the same written scope.

Which has more integrations, Drata or Scytale?

Drata publishes the larger integration catalogue (300+ vs 150+). Counts are vendor claims; test the systems you depend on.

Do more auditors work with Drata or Scytale?

Drata is listed by more audit firms in SOC2Auditors.org's directory (49 vs 0).

Which is rated higher on G2, Drata or Scytale?

On G2, Drata rates 4.7 from 1,397 reviews and Scytale 4.7 from 779. Ratings come from self-selected reviewers.

Which is faster to implement?

G2 reviewers report 2 months for Drata and 2 months for Scytale. Your own timeline depends on scope and how much evidence already exists.

Can Drata or Scytale include the SOC 2 audit?

Drata doesn't sell the audit; you hire a firm separately. Scytale sells a third-party audit service from $4,200.

Can I switch from Drata to Scytale mid-audit?

You can, but it is risky during a Type 2 observation period, because your auditor needs continuous evidence for the whole period. Most teams switch between observation periods.