Compliance platform comparison

Hyperproof vs Scytale

Scytale's typical price is lower (from $7,500 against $41,400 median), though one figure is a starting price and the other an observed median. Scytale publishes 150+ integrations; Hyperproof doesn't publish a count. Scytale is listed by 0 directory audit firms; Hyperproof isn't counted. On G2, Hyperproof rates 4.5 from 223 reviews and Scytale 4.7 from 779.

Short verdict: which one fits you

A fit guide, not a ranking. We don't pick an overall winner.

Choose Hyperproof if…

  • you match its stated best fit: established GRC teams running several frameworks and audits at once [5]

Choose Scytale if…

  • a lower typical price matters most (from $7,500 vs $41,400 median) [1]
  • you want the larger published integration catalogue (150+) [2]
  • you want a faster rollout (2 months vs 3 months on G2) [3]
  • you need a trust centre confirmed as standard [2]

Neither runs the audit itself. If you want software and audit from one provider, compare Thoropass. [5]

Hyperproof

Governance, risk and compliance platform for established teams running several frameworks and audits at once.

Typical annual price
$41,400 medianThird-party[4]
Observed contracts (Vendr)
$22,215 to $70,000Third-party[4]
G2 rating
4.5 · 223 reviewsUser reviews[3]
G2 time to implement
Integrations
Not disclosedNot disclosed[5]
Audit firms in the directory
Not disclosedNot disclosed[5]
Default test cadence
You set it: daily, weekly or continuousVendor-reported[10]

Scytale

Compliance automation platform sold in packages that pair the software with consultants, aimed at a first SOC 2.

Typical annual price
From $7,500 (platform + 1 framework)Vendor-reported[1]
Observed contracts (Vendr)
G2 rating
4.7 · 779 reviewsUser reviews[3]
G2 time to implement
Integrations
Audit firms in the directory
0 directory firmsThird-party[7]
Default test cadence
Not disclosedNot disclosed[2]

Pricing: is Hyperproof or Scytale cheaper?

Scytale's typical price is lower (from $7,500 against $41,400 median), though one figure is a starting price and the other an observed median.

AttributeHyperproofScytale
Typical annual price
$41,400 medianThird-party[4]
From $7,500 (platform + 1 framework)Vendor-reported[1]
Observed contract range (Vendr)
$22,215 to $70,000Third-party[4]

Before comparing totals, get both quotes on the same written scope: employees, frameworks, modules, implementation, support level, contract term, renewal cap and the auditor's fee as its own line.

Integrations and automated testing

Scytale publishes 150+ integrations; Hyperproof doesn't publish a count.

AttributeHyperproofScytale
Integrations
Not disclosedNot disclosed[5]
Default test cadence
You set it: daily, weekly or continuousVendor-reported[10]
Not disclosedNot disclosed[2]

On G2, "Integration issues" is among Scytale's most-mentioned complaints (45 G2 mentions). [3]

Integration counts are vendor claims and are counted differently by each vendor. Test the systems you depend on during a trial.

Frameworks

Hyperproof lists 160+; Scytale lists 80+.

AttributeHyperproofScytale
Frameworks published
ISO 27001
HIPAA

Capabilities compared

From SOC2Auditors.org capability profiles and vendor plan pages. "Not disclosed" means we could not confirm either way; it does not mean the feature is missing.

AttributeHyperproofScytale
Auditor workspace
Trust centre
SCIM provisioning
Audit from the same provider
Add-on or higher tierThird-party[5]
Self-hosting option
Not disclosedNot disclosed[5]
Not disclosedNot disclosed[5]

Working with your auditor

Scytale is listed by 0 directory audit firms; Hyperproof isn't counted.

AttributeHyperproofScytale
Audit firms in the directory
Not disclosedNot disclosed[5]
0 directory firmsThird-party[7]
Audit from the same provider
Add-on or higher tierThird-party[5]

Hyperproof doesn't sell the audit; you hire a firm separately. Scytale sells a third-party audit service from $4,200. Directory counts are firms that list each platform, not partnerships or quality ratings. [6]

What reviewers say on G2

On G2, Hyperproof rates 4.5 from 223 reviews and Scytale 4.7 from 779.

Hyperproof

Listing-site ratings
G2
4.5
223 reviews

Recurring praise

  • Ease of use67 G2 mentions
  • Compliance management37 G2 mentions

Recurring complaints

  • Learning curve17 G2 mentions
  • Learning difficulty13 G2 mentions

Scytale

Listing-site ratings
G2
4.7
779 reviews

Recurring praise

  • Helpful162 G2 mentions
  • Ease of use148 G2 mentions

Recurring complaints

  • Integration issues45 G2 mentions
  • Limited integrations35 G2 mentions

Source: [3]

G2 time to implement: Hyperproof 3 months, Scytale 2 months. Mention counts scale with review volume, so compare them as proportions, not totals. [3]

What each product looks like

Screenshots published by each vendor on its website or G2 listing, credited below each image.

Strengths and limitations

Hyperproof

Strengths

  • Built for established GRC teams running concurrent audits. [5]
  • Claims 160+ pre-built frameworks, including an out-of-the-box HIPAA framework. [10]
  • SCIM provisioning documented through Okta or Entra. [5]

Limitations

  • Highest observed contract median of the seven platforms with Vendr data: $41,400. [4]
  • Longest G2 time to implement among the nine platforms we compare: 3 months. [3]
  • Described as too broad and costly for a small team's first SOC 2. [5]

Scytale

Strengths

  • Publishes per-item prices on AWS Marketplace: the platform plus one framework from $7,500 a year, each extra framework from $2,100. [1]
  • Higher packages include consultants, for teams without a compliance lead. [7]
  • Sells a third-party audit service from $4,200 alongside the platform. [1]
  • Lists 12 audit partners on its own site, including PwC, Deloitte, EY and KPMG. [11]

Limitations

  • No attestation firm in SOC2Auditors.org's directory lists it as a platform it works with. [7]
  • Extras are priced separately: framework consulting from $4,000, penetration testing from $4,500, security questionnaires from $12,000. [1]
  • Reviews quoted by SmartSuite and SelectHub describe integrations that misbehave when infrastructure doesn't match the expected setup. [8][9]

Five tests to run on both before you sign

  1. Connect your three most important systems

    Use a trial or sandbox to connect your cloud provider, identity provider and code host, and check that each produces evidence without manual uploads.

  2. Ask your auditor which one they work in

    An auditor who already works in a platform usually needs less back-and-forth on evidence.

  3. Get both quotes on the same written scope

    Employees, frameworks, modules, support level, contract term, renewal cap, and the audit as its own line.

  4. Check what is an add-on

    SSO, SCIM, extra frameworks, questionnaires and trust-centre features are often tier-gated. Ask for the full price of the scope you need.

  5. Ask how you would leave

    Confirm you can export policies, evidence with timestamps and test history, and whether read-only access continues after the contract ends.

Alternatives and related comparisons

Frequently asked questions

Answers use the figures on this page. Where something isn't disclosed, the answer says so.

Is Hyperproof or Scytale cheaper?

Scytale's typical price is lower (from $7,500 against $41,400 median), though one figure is a starting price and the other an observed median. Prices depend on employees, frameworks and modules, so compare quotes for the same written scope.

Which has more integrations, Hyperproof or Scytale?

Scytale publishes 150+ integrations; Hyperproof doesn't publish a count. Counts are vendor claims; test the systems you depend on.

Do more auditors work with Hyperproof or Scytale?

Scytale is listed by 0 directory audit firms; Hyperproof isn't counted.

Which is rated higher on G2, Hyperproof or Scytale?

On G2, Hyperproof rates 4.5 from 223 reviews and Scytale 4.7 from 779. Ratings come from self-selected reviewers.

Which is faster to implement?

G2 reviewers report 3 months for Hyperproof and 2 months for Scytale. Your own timeline depends on scope and how much evidence already exists.

Can Hyperproof or Scytale include the SOC 2 audit?

Hyperproof doesn't sell the audit; you hire a firm separately. Scytale sells a third-party audit service from $4,200.

Can I switch from Hyperproof to Scytale mid-audit?

You can, but it is risky during a Type 2 observation period, because your auditor needs continuous evidence for the whole period. Most teams switch between observation periods.