Compliance platform comparison

Scrut Automation vs Scytale

Scrut Automation's typical price is lower ($7,250 median against from $7,500), though one figure is a starting price and the other an observed median. Scytale publishes 150+ integrations; Scrut Automation doesn't publish a count. Scrut Automation is listed by more audit firms in SOC2Auditors.org's directory (1 vs 0). On G2, Scrut Automation rates 4.9 from 1,338 reviews and Scytale 4.7 from 779.

Short verdict: which one fits you

A fit guide, not a ranking. We don't pick an overall winner.

Choose Scrut Automation if…

  • a lower typical price matters most ($7,250 median vs from $7,500) [4]
  • you want more choice of audit firm (1 directory firm vs 0) [15]
  • you want a faster rollout (1 month vs 2 months on G2) [3]
  • you match its stated best fit: growth-stage tech teams managing SOC 2 alongside other frameworks [5]

Choose Scytale if…

  • you want the larger published integration catalogue (150+) [2]
  • you want guided preparation or included expert help [5]
  • you match its stated best fit: teams preparing a first SOC 2 without an in-house compliance lead [5]

Neither runs the audit itself. If you want software and audit from one provider, compare Thoropass. [5]

Scrut Automation

Compliance and risk platform for growth-stage tech teams running SOC 2 alongside other frameworks.

Typical annual price
$7,250 medianThird-party[4]
Observed contracts (Vendr)
$5,160 to $27,050Third-party[4]
G2 rating
4.9 · 1,338 reviewsUser reviews[3]
G2 time to implement
Integrations
Not disclosedNot disclosed[5]
Frameworks
Audit firms in the directory
1 directory firmThird-party[15]
Default test cadence

Scytale

Compliance automation platform sold in packages that pair the software with consultants, aimed at a first SOC 2.

Typical annual price
From $7,500 (platform + 1 framework)Vendor-reported[1]
Observed contracts (Vendr)
G2 rating
4.7 · 779 reviewsUser reviews[3]
G2 time to implement
Integrations
Audit firms in the directory
0 directory firmsThird-party[8]
Default test cadence
Not disclosedNot disclosed[2]

Pricing: is Scrut Automation or Scytale cheaper?

Scrut Automation's typical price is lower ($7,250 median against from $7,500), though one figure is a starting price and the other an observed median.

AttributeScrut AutomationScytale
Typical annual price
$7,250 medianThird-party[4]
From $7,500 (platform + 1 framework)Vendor-reported[1]
Observed contract range (Vendr)
$5,160 to $27,050Third-party[4]

Before comparing totals, get both quotes on the same written scope: employees, frameworks, modules, implementation, support level, contract term, renewal cap and the auditor's fee as its own line.

Integrations and automated testing

Scytale publishes 150+ integrations; Scrut Automation doesn't publish a count.

AttributeScrut AutomationScytale
Integrations
Not disclosedNot disclosed[5]
Default test cadence
Not disclosedNot disclosed[2]

On G2, "Integration issues" is among Scytale's most-mentioned complaints (45 G2 mentions). [3]

Integration counts are vendor claims and are counted differently by each vendor. Test the systems you depend on during a trial.

Frameworks

Scrut Automation lists 60 listed; Scytale lists 80+.

AttributeScrut AutomationScytale
Frameworks published
ISO 27001
HIPAA

Capabilities compared

From SOC2Auditors.org capability profiles and vendor plan pages. "Not disclosed" means we could not confirm either way; it does not mean the feature is missing.

AttributeScrut AutomationScytale
Auditor workspace
Trust centre
SCIM provisioning
Audit from the same provider
Add-on or higher tierThird-party[5]
Self-hosting option
Not disclosedNot disclosed[5]
Not disclosedNot disclosed[5]

Working with your auditor

Scrut Automation is listed by more audit firms in SOC2Auditors.org's directory (1 vs 0).

AttributeScrut AutomationScytale
Audit firms in the directory
1 directory firmThird-party[15]
0 directory firmsThird-party[8]
Audit from the same provider
Add-on or higher tierThird-party[5]

Scrut Automation doesn't sell the audit; you hire a firm separately. Scytale sells a third-party audit service from $4,200. Directory counts are firms that list each platform, not partnerships or quality ratings. [6]

What reviewers say on G2

On G2, Scrut Automation rates 4.9 from 1,338 reviews and Scytale 4.7 from 779.

Scrut Automation

Listing-site ratings
G2
4.9
1,338 reviews

Recurring praise

  • Not yet compiled

Recurring complaints

  • Not yet compiled

Scytale

Listing-site ratings
G2
4.7
779 reviews

Recurring praise

  • Helpful162 G2 mentions
  • Ease of use148 G2 mentions

Recurring complaints

  • Integration issues45 G2 mentions
  • Limited integrations35 G2 mentions

Source: [3]

G2 time to implement: Scrut Automation 1 month, Scytale 2 months. Mention counts scale with review volume, so compare them as proportions, not totals. [3]

What each product looks like

Screenshots published by each vendor on its website or G2 listing, credited below each image.

Strengths and limitations

Scrut Automation

Strengths

  • Highest G2 rating among the nine platforms we compare: 4.9 from 1,338 reviews. [3]
  • Lowest observed contract median of the seven platforms with Vendr data: $7,250 a year. [4]
  • 1-month G2 time to implement, the shortest among the nine (tied with Comp AI). [3]
  • Listed with SCIM in Okta's catalogue; trust portal and auditor access documented. [5]

Limitations

  • AWS Marketplace lists $15,000 a year for teams of up to 20 employees; other quotes are by request. [7][14]
  • Only one firm in SOC2Auditors.org's directory lists it as a platform it works with. [15]
  • Which plan includes SCIM is not public. [5]

Scytale

Strengths

  • Publishes per-item prices on AWS Marketplace: the platform plus one framework from $7,500 a year, each extra framework from $2,100. [1]
  • Higher packages include consultants, for teams without a compliance lead. [8]
  • Sells a third-party audit service from $4,200 alongside the platform. [1]
  • Lists 12 audit partners on its own site, including PwC, Deloitte, EY and KPMG. [13]

Limitations

  • No attestation firm in SOC2Auditors.org's directory lists it as a platform it works with. [8]
  • Extras are priced separately: framework consulting from $4,000, penetration testing from $4,500, security questionnaires from $12,000. [1]
  • Reviews quoted by SmartSuite and SelectHub describe integrations that misbehave when infrastructure doesn't match the expected setup. [9][10]

Five tests to run on both before you sign

  1. Connect your three most important systems

    Use a trial or sandbox to connect your cloud provider, identity provider and code host, and check that each produces evidence without manual uploads.

  2. Ask your auditor which one they work in

    An auditor who already works in a platform usually needs less back-and-forth on evidence.

  3. Get both quotes on the same written scope

    Employees, frameworks, modules, support level, contract term, renewal cap, and the audit as its own line.

  4. Check what is an add-on

    SSO, SCIM, extra frameworks, questionnaires and trust-centre features are often tier-gated. Ask for the full price of the scope you need.

  5. Ask how you would leave

    Confirm you can export policies, evidence with timestamps and test history, and whether read-only access continues after the contract ends.

Alternatives and related comparisons

Frequently asked questions

Answers use the figures on this page. Where something isn't disclosed, the answer says so.

Is Scrut Automation or Scytale cheaper?

Scrut Automation's typical price is lower ($7,250 median against from $7,500), though one figure is a starting price and the other an observed median. Prices depend on employees, frameworks and modules, so compare quotes for the same written scope.

Which has more integrations, Scrut Automation or Scytale?

Scytale publishes 150+ integrations; Scrut Automation doesn't publish a count. Counts are vendor claims; test the systems you depend on.

Do more auditors work with Scrut Automation or Scytale?

Scrut Automation is listed by more audit firms in SOC2Auditors.org's directory (1 vs 0).

Which is rated higher on G2, Scrut Automation or Scytale?

On G2, Scrut Automation rates 4.9 from 1,338 reviews and Scytale 4.7 from 779. Ratings come from self-selected reviewers.

Which is faster to implement?

G2 reviewers report 1 month for Scrut Automation and 2 months for Scytale. Your own timeline depends on scope and how much evidence already exists.

Can Scrut Automation or Scytale include the SOC 2 audit?

Scrut Automation doesn't sell the audit; you hire a firm separately. Scytale sells a third-party audit service from $4,200.

Can I switch from Scrut Automation to Scytale mid-audit?

You can, but it is risky during a Type 2 observation period, because your auditor needs continuous evidence for the whole period. Most teams switch between observation periods.