Compliance platform comparison

Comp AI vs Scrut Automation

Scrut Automation has a published or observed price ($7,250 median); Comp AI quotes on a sales call. Comp AI publishes 580+ integrations; Scrut Automation doesn't publish a count. Scrut Automation is listed by 1 directory audit firm; Comp AI isn't counted. On G2, Comp AI rates 4.7 from 74 reviews and Scrut Automation 4.9 from 1,338.

Short verdict: which one fits you

A fit guide, not a ranking. We don't pick an overall winner.

Choose Comp AI if…

  • you want the larger published integration catalogue (580+) [6]
  • you need to inspect the code or self-host [6]
  • you match its stated best fit: engineering-led teams that value inspectable code or the option to self-host [3]

Choose Scrut Automation if…

  • a lower typical price matters most ($7,250 median; Comp AI doesn't publish one) [2]
  • you want more choice of audit firm (1 directory firm) [10]
  • you need SCIM provisioning confirmed as standard [3]
  • you need an auditor workspace confirmed as standard [7]

Neither runs the audit itself. If you want software and audit from one provider, compare Thoropass. [3]

Comp AI

Open-core compliance platform whose evidence-collection code can be inspected or self-hosted, with a managed cloud option.

Typical annual price
Not publishedNot disclosed[6]
Observed contracts (Vendr)
G2 rating
4.7 · 74 reviewsUser reviews[1]
G2 time to implement
Integrations
Frameworks
Not disclosedNot disclosed[3]
Audit firms in the directory
Not disclosedNot disclosed[3]
Default test cadence

Scrut Automation

Compliance and risk platform for growth-stage tech teams running SOC 2 alongside other frameworks.

Typical annual price
$7,250 medianThird-party[2]
Observed contracts (Vendr)
$5,160 to $27,050Third-party[2]
G2 rating
4.9 · 1,338 reviewsUser reviews[1]
G2 time to implement
Integrations
Not disclosedNot disclosed[3]
Frameworks
Audit firms in the directory
1 directory firmThird-party[10]
Default test cadence

Pricing: is Comp AI or Scrut Automation cheaper?

Scrut Automation has a published or observed price ($7,250 median); Comp AI quotes on a sales call.

AttributeComp AIScrut Automation
Typical annual price
Not publishedNot disclosed[6]
$7,250 medianThird-party[2]
Observed contract range (Vendr)
$5,160 to $27,050Third-party[2]

Before comparing totals, get both quotes on the same written scope: employees, frameworks, modules, implementation, support level, contract term, renewal cap and the auditor's fee as its own line.

Integrations and automated testing

Comp AI publishes 580+ integrations; Scrut Automation doesn't publish a count.

AttributeComp AIScrut Automation
Integrations
Not disclosedNot disclosed[3]
Default test cadence

Integration counts are vendor claims and are counted differently by each vendor. Test the systems you depend on during a trial.

Frameworks

Comp AI doesn't publish a count; Scrut Automation lists 60 listed.

AttributeComp AIScrut Automation
Frameworks published
Not disclosedNot disclosed[3]
ISO 27001
HIPAA

Capabilities compared

From SOC2Auditors.org capability profiles and vendor plan pages. "Not disclosed" means we could not confirm either way; it does not mean the feature is missing.

AttributeComp AIScrut Automation
Auditor workspace
Trust centre
SCIM provisioning
Not disclosedNot disclosed[3]
Audit from the same provider
Add-on or higher tierThird-party[3]
Self-hosting option
Not disclosedNot disclosed[3]

Working with your auditor

Scrut Automation is listed by 1 directory audit firm; Comp AI isn't counted.

AttributeComp AIScrut Automation
Audit firms in the directory
Not disclosedNot disclosed[3]
1 directory firmThird-party[10]
Audit from the same provider
Add-on or higher tierThird-party[3]

Comp AI says audits can be included in its quote. Scrut Automation doesn't sell the audit; you hire a firm separately. Directory counts are firms that list each platform, not partnerships or quality ratings. [4]

What reviewers say on G2

On G2, Comp AI rates 4.7 from 74 reviews and Scrut Automation 4.9 from 1,338.

Comp AI

Listing-site ratings
G2
4.7
74 reviews

Recurring praise

  • Ease of use42 G2 mentions
  • Support for multiple standards38 G2 mentions

Recurring complaints

  • Lack of guidance19 G2 mentions
  • Limited customization17 G2 mentions

Scrut Automation

Listing-site ratings
G2
4.9
1,338 reviews

Recurring praise

  • Not yet compiled

Recurring complaints

  • Not yet compiled

Source: [1]

G2 time to implement: Comp AI 1 month, Scrut Automation 1 month. Mention counts scale with review volume, so compare them as proportions, not totals. [1]

What each product looks like

Screenshots published by each vendor on its website or G2 listing, credited below each image.

Strengths and limitations

Comp AI

Strengths

  • 99% of the core is open source under AGPLv3, and self-hosting is documented. [6]
  • Claims 580+ integrations, the largest published figure among the nine platforms we compare. [6]
  • 1-month G2 time to implement, the shortest among the nine (tied with Scrut). [1]

Limitations

  • No published rate card; price is given on a sales call. [6]
  • SCIM not established in public documentation. [3]
  • Reviewers cite a lack of guidance (19 G2 mentions) and a small review base (74). [1]

Scrut Automation

Strengths

  • Highest G2 rating among the nine platforms we compare: 4.9 from 1,338 reviews. [1]
  • Lowest observed contract median of the seven platforms with Vendr data: $7,250 a year. [2]
  • 1-month G2 time to implement, the shortest among the nine (tied with Comp AI). [1]
  • Listed with SCIM in Okta's catalogue; trust portal and auditor access documented. [3]

Limitations

  • AWS Marketplace lists $15,000 a year for teams of up to 20 employees; other quotes are by request. [5][9]
  • Only one firm in SOC2Auditors.org's directory lists it as a platform it works with. [10]
  • Which plan includes SCIM is not public. [3]

Five tests to run on both before you sign

  1. Connect your three most important systems

    Use a trial or sandbox to connect your cloud provider, identity provider and code host, and check that each produces evidence without manual uploads.

  2. Ask your auditor which one they work in

    An auditor who already works in a platform usually needs less back-and-forth on evidence.

  3. Get both quotes on the same written scope

    Employees, frameworks, modules, support level, contract term, renewal cap, and the audit as its own line.

  4. Check what is an add-on

    SSO, SCIM, extra frameworks, questionnaires and trust-centre features are often tier-gated. Ask for the full price of the scope you need.

  5. Ask how you would leave

    Confirm you can export policies, evidence with timestamps and test history, and whether read-only access continues after the contract ends.

Alternatives and related comparisons

Frequently asked questions

Answers use the figures on this page. Where something isn't disclosed, the answer says so.

Is Comp AI or Scrut Automation cheaper?

Scrut Automation has a published or observed price ($7,250 median); Comp AI quotes on a sales call. Prices depend on employees, frameworks and modules, so compare quotes for the same written scope.

Which has more integrations, Comp AI or Scrut Automation?

Comp AI publishes 580+ integrations; Scrut Automation doesn't publish a count. Counts are vendor claims; test the systems you depend on.

Do more auditors work with Comp AI or Scrut Automation?

Scrut Automation is listed by 1 directory audit firm; Comp AI isn't counted.

Which is rated higher on G2, Comp AI or Scrut Automation?

On G2, Comp AI rates 4.7 from 74 reviews and Scrut Automation 4.9 from 1,338. Ratings come from self-selected reviewers.

Which is faster to implement?

G2 reviewers report 1 month for Comp AI and 1 month for Scrut Automation. Your own timeline depends on scope and how much evidence already exists.

Can Comp AI or Scrut Automation include the SOC 2 audit?

Comp AI says audits can be included in its quote. Scrut Automation doesn't sell the audit; you hire a firm separately.

Can I switch from Comp AI to Scrut Automation mid-audit?

You can, but it is risky during a Type 2 observation period, because your auditor needs continuous evidence for the whole period. Most teams switch between observation periods.