Best for the lowest typical price
Scrut Automation
$7,250 median a year, against Comp AI's unpublished price.
- Price per year
- $5,160–$27,050Third-party[4]
- G2 rating
- 4.9 · 1,338 reviewsUser reviews[3]
Compliance platform alternatives
Filter by what you need. The table and the profiles below update together.
| Best for | Reason to compare | Frameworks | Profile | |||||
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Early- to growth-stage SaaS teams seeking guided first-audit preparation | Public pricing data ($15,000 median); more choice of auditor (44 directory firms) | $13,167[4] to $16,000 |
4.7 (1,685) | 25+ automated[13] |
300+[13] |
44 directory firms[6] |
Full profile ↓ | |
| Growth-stage SaaS teams that expect to add frameworks and want configurable tests | Public pricing data ($25,000 median); more choice of auditor (49 directory firms) | $9,415[4] to $68,250 |
4.7 (1,397) | 30+[12] |
300+[16] |
49 directory firms[6] |
Full profile ↓ | |
| Teams preparing a first SOC 2 without an in-house compliance lead | Public pricing data (from $7,500); an auditor workspace and SCIM provisioning as standard | $7,500[1] "from" price |
4.7 (779) | 80+[2] |
150+[2] |
0 directory firms[8] |
Full profile ↓ | |
| Teams that want expert guidance on clearly named packages | Public pricing data ($20,000 median); an auditor workspace as standard | $7,733[4] to $32,575 |
4.7 (835) | 300+[14] |
13 directory firms[6] |
Full profile ↓ | ||
| Teams wanting software and a connected audit process from the same provider | Public pricing data ($26,927 median); the audit from the same provider | $1,145[4] to $52,209 |
4.7 (586) | 18 named[27] |
200+[31] |
Own CPA firm[5] |
Full profile ↓ | |
| Cloud-native SaaS teams on mainstream stacks that want broad, prebuilt coverage | Public pricing data ($20,000 median); more choice of auditor (40 directory firms) | $7,500[4] to $57,221 |
4.5 (2,853) | 35+[11] |
400+[11] |
40 directory firms[6] |
Full profile ↓ | |
| Established GRC teams running several frameworks and audits at once | Public pricing data ($41,400 median); an auditor workspace and SCIM provisioning as standard | $22,215[4] to $70,000 |
4.5 (223) | 160+[28] |
Full profile ↓ | |||
| Growth-stage tech teams managing SOC 2 alongside other frameworks | Public pricing data ($7,250 median); an auditor workspace and SCIM provisioning as standard | $5,160[4] to $27,050 |
4.9 (1,338) | 60 listed[25] |
1 directory firm[32] |
Full profile ↓ | ||
∅ No alternative matches every filter. Remove one, or . Products with undisclosed data never match a filter that needs it. | ||||||||
● vendor-reported · ○ third-party · ◐ user reviews · ≈ our estimate · ∅ not disclosed. Numbers in brackets link to sources.
How this list is ordered By how many of the reasons above each product meets, using the criterion stated under each reason, then alphabetically. Numbers are list positions, not scores.
The short answer
This page compares Comp AI alternatives on cost, auditor choice and features. On our figures, Scrut Automation has the lowest typical price ($7,250 median), Vanta publishes the largest integration catalogue (400+) and Drata is listed by the most audit firms (49). Thoropass runs the audit through its related CPA firm. Comp AI still fits engineering-led teams that value inspectable code or the option to self-host.
Where Comp AI stands today
4 common reasons, each tested against the same figures for every alternative. Find yours, then jump to the alternatives that meet it.
Comp AI gives prices on a sales call (quote on a 20-minute call), so you can't compare cost before talking to sales.
Counts as addressed when: Publishes a starting price, or has observed contract data on Vendr.
We couldn't find Comp AI in SOC2Auditors.org's auditor lists, so we can't say how many audit firms work in it.
Counts as addressed when: Listed by 25 or more firms in SOC2Auditors.org's directory, or the provider runs the audit itself.
Auditor workspace: partial. SCIM provisioning: not disclosed.
Counts as addressed when: Includes at least one of these as standard: Auditor workspace and SCIM provisioning.
"Lack of guidance" is among the most-mentioned complaints in Comp AI's G2 reviews (19 G2 mentions).
Counts as addressed when: Positioned around guided preparation, expert guidance or included consultants.
Switching mid-programme has real costs. Staying is often the right call if any of these apply.
Before renewing, ask one alternative to quote for exactly your current scope (frameworks, employees, modules and audit), and take that quote into your Comp AI renewal.
Four common situations and the alternative that fits each. These are fit labels, not rankings.
Best for the lowest typical price
$7,250 median a year, against Comp AI's unpublished price.
Best for integration breadth
400+ integrations by the vendor's own count, the largest published catalogue here.
Best for choice of auditor
49 firms in SOC2Auditors.org's directory list it, the most of any alternative here.
Best with the audit from the same provider
Runs the audit through its related CPA firm, Thoropass Assurance. Software and audit are priced separately.
Each alternative gets the same profile: who it fits, the data, how it differs from Comp AI, and what switching involves.
·
Compliance automation platform focused on guided first-audit preparation for SaaS teams.
Compliance automation platform with custom tests, compliance checks in infrastructure code and a dedicated auditor portal.
Compliance automation platform sold in packages that pair the software with consultants, aimed at a first SOC 2.
Compliance platform sold as named packages (Fundamentals, Complete, Defense) with expert guidance.
Compliance platform paired with its related CPA firm, Thoropass Assurance, so software and audit come from one provider.
Compliance automation platform with the largest published integration catalogue and hourly automated tests.
Governance, risk and compliance platform for established teams running several frameworks and audits at once.
Compliance and risk platform for growth-stage tech teams running SOC 2 alongside other frameworks.
No profiles match the current filters.
On typical prices (the Vendr median, or the published starting price where there is no median): Scrut Automation $7,250 median, Scytale from $7,500, Sprinto $15,000 median, Vanta $20,000 median, Secureframe $20,000 median, Drata $25,000 median, Thoropass $26,927 median, Hyperproof $41,400 median. Comp AI's own typical price is not published. Medians and starting prices aren't like for like, so compare quotes for the same scope.
Annual platform subscription on one scale, Comp AI first as the baseline. Ranges are observed contracts (Vendr); a fading bar is a published "from" price; the black tick is a median; hatching means no price is published.
Comp AI is the shaded baseline column. Tick the alternatives you're weighing, then compare only those.
| Capability | Comp AIBaseline | Sprinto | Drata | Scytale | Secureframe | Thoropass | Vanta | Hyperproof | Scrut Automation |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| SOC 2 | Included | Included | Included | Included | Included | Included | Included | Included | Included |
| ISO 27001 | Included | Included | Included | Included | Included | Included | Included | Included | Included |
| HIPAA | Included | Included | Included | Included | Included | Included | Included | Included | Included |
| Auditor workspace | Partial | Included | Included | Included | Included | Included | Included | Included | Included |
| Trust centre | Included | Included | Included | Included | Included | Included | Included | Partial | Included |
| SCIM provisioning | Not disclosed | Not disclosed | Add-on or higher tier | Included | Add-on or higher tier | Included | Add-on or higher tier | Included | Included |
| Audit from the same provider | Add-on or higher tier | Not offered | Not offered | Add-on or higher tier | Not offered | Included | Add-on or higher tier | Not offered | Not offered |
| Self-hosting option | Included | Not disclosed | Not disclosed | Not disclosed | Not disclosed | Not disclosed | Not disclosed | Not disclosed | Not disclosed |
Capability states come from the sources cited in each profile; most are from [5][2][20][21][12][22][23][24][26][28].
These come up in the same searches but solve a different problem. Each is sometimes the better answer.
Publish your security posture and answer questionnaires, but don't monitor controls or collect audit evidence.
Right instead when you already hold a SOC 2 report and buyer security reviews are the bottleneck.
Write policies and run readiness work, usually alongside a platform you still pay for.
Right instead when the problem is time, not software.
Some audit firms include a licence for their own tool with the audit fee.
Right instead when you want one relationship and accept the firm's tool. Check what happens to your data if you change auditor.
Cover risk, policy and audit management across a large organisation, with implementations measured in quarters.
Right instead when you have a dedicated GRC team and many frameworks.
Five steps, in order. Most failed switches skip the first or second.
Download policies, evidence with timestamps, the risk register, vendor reviews and any test history. Some exports are only available while your contract is active.
Switch between observation periods, not during one. If the renewal falls mid-period, ask Comp AI for a short extension rather than moving tools mid-audit.
Confirm they can audit from the new platform or accept its exports.
Connect the new platform and compare its test results with Comp AI's for about 30 days before relying on it.
Your auditor may ask for evidence from the old system. Negotiate read-only access, or keep a dated archive of every export.
Answers use the figures on this page. Where a vendor hasn't disclosed something, the answer says so.
On typical prices (the Vendr median, or the published starting price where there is no median): Scrut Automation $7,250 median, Scytale from $7,500, Sprinto $15,000 median, Vanta $20,000 median, Secureframe $20,000 median, Drata $25,000 median, Thoropass $26,927 median, Hyperproof $41,400 median. Comp AI's own typical price is not published. Medians and starting prices aren't like for like, so compare quotes for the same scope.
By vendor claims: Vanta 400+, Drata 300+, Sprinto 300+, Secureframe 300+, Thoropass 200+, Scytale 150+. Scrut Automation and Hyperproof don't publish a count. Comp AI publishes 580+. Counts are not proof that your own systems produce evidence your auditor accepts, so test the integrations you depend on.
In SOC2Auditors.org's directory: 49 firms list Drata, 44 firms list Sprinto, 40 firms list Vanta, 13 firms list Secureframe, 1 firm lists Scrut Automation, 0 firms list Scytale. Thoropass runs audits through its related CPA firm. Hyperproof isn't counted. Comp AI: not counted.
Thoropass pairs its platform with a related CPA firm, Thoropass Assurance, though software and audit are priced separately. Vanta sells a package that can include an independent auditor's fee. Scytale sells a third-party audit service from $4,200. The others sell the platform only; you hire an audit firm separately.
Not among the platforms we compare. None of the other eight publishes an open-source codebase in the materials we read.
On G2: Scrut Automation 4.9 (1,338 reviews), Sprinto 4.7 (1,685 reviews), Drata 4.7 (1,397 reviews), Secureframe 4.7 (835 reviews), Scytale 4.7 (779 reviews), Thoropass 4.7 (586 reviews), Vanta 4.5 (2,853 reviews), Hyperproof 4.5 (223 reviews). Comp AI is rated 4.7 from 74 reviews. Ratings come from self-selected reviewers, and small review counts move more easily.
You can, but it is risky during a Type 2 observation period, because your auditor needs continuous evidence for the whole period. Most teams switch between observation periods, or agree in writing with their auditor how evidence from both tools will be accepted.